Merging People

Sometimes you'll find a person on your account is listed twice, usually with two different email addresses. Instead of removing one of them, you can merge the two together!

Or maybe you want a new person to inherit someone else’s project access and assignments? If you're an admin, you can get this done!

Click on Home, then on Adminland, then on option in blue to Merge People:

You'll want to start by reading the information on that page as merging cannot be undone. It goes over designating one user as a winner and the other as a loser. The winner will receive all of the loser’s: 

  • to-do assignments
  • reminders
  • notification subscriptions
  • access to projects. 

They will not inherit the loser’s historical activity, nor will they gain access to their Ping conversations. After merging, the loser will be removed from the account.

If you have any questions about this before you do merge two people together, feel free to contact the support team. We'll be happy to help!

Here's an example where someone invited Tony Stark to the account using their personal email address. Someone else invited them to the account using their work email address.

After clicking on Home, then Adminland, then Merge People, you can identify which profile should be removed. 

Let's get rid of the personal email address for Tony:

Then, choose which profile stays on the account:

You cannot undo a merge so please be sure you want to make this change. When you're ready, read the information on the rest of the page. Project accesses, to-do assignments, reminders, and subscriptions will be merged into the profile that stays on the account. The wrong profile will be removed from the account. 

When merges finish, they'll all be listed beneath Recent merges:

If you run into any questions about this along the way, please contact the support team! We'd be happy to answer what comes up.


Back to all articles about People & Permissions ➡️