Permissions

Permission changes for the per-user paid accounts created after September 14, 2022:

People who work at your company (paid users) can: 

  • Create Projects
  • Add other existing users to Projects
  • Be Admins or Account owners
Outside collaborators (Contractors/Vendors) and Clients cannot do the above.
Only account owners and administrators can add new users to accounts.

Permissions for paid Basecamp accounts created before September 13, 2022:

Everyone added to the account as a non-client user can:

  • Create new Projects
  • Change who's on a Project (i.e., add and remove other users and clients)
  • Update their participation type
  • Archive, trash, and restore Projects 
  • Archive, trash, restore, and share items within Projects
  • Permanently delete items they created
  • See everyone and everything in all Projects they're a part of
  • Close comments/boosts on a post they authored
  • Join the All-Access projects

Account Administrators can also:

  • Remove someone from your account
  • Change which Projects someone can see, including archived projects they have access to
  • Move someone between companies/organizations
  • Rename a company/organization
  • Add/remove other administrators
  • Delete comments made by anyone else
  • Delete someone else's Campfire chat lines
  • Permanently delete items created by anyone else
  • Set up what is shown on the Home screen
  • Merge people
  • Close comments/boosts on any thread

Account Owners can do all that and:

  • Handle billing & invoice changes
  • See everyone on the account
  • Add/remove other account owners
  • Rename the account
  • Put posted comments in the trash 
  • View everything in the trash
  • Add themselves to any Project on the account
  • Export account data
  • Cancel the account
Account owners are not automatically added to new Projects in the account. Owners can add themselves to any Project in the account.

Admins and account owners can be a part of any company/organization on the account.

Clients added to projects can: 

  • See everything that is marked "The client can see this..."
  • Post comments, messages, events, and to-dos, upload files like regular/team users
  • Clients can see the lined-up projects they are involved in, but they can't add/remove/change start/end dates
  • Similar to regular/team users, Client Users can also:
  • Edit, move, copy, archive, put in trash, bookmark, and view the change log for message board posts
  • Edit, move, copy, add a group, archive, put in trash, bookmark, and view the change log for to-do lists
  • Edit, move, copy, archive, put in trash, bookmark, and view the change log for to-do items
  • Edit, move, copy, archive, put in trash, bookmark, and view the change log for automatic check-ins
  • Edit, move, copy, archive, put in trash, bookmark, view change log for documents and files
  • Move, copy, download, rename, archive, put in trash, bookmark and view the change log for a folder
  • Move, copy, archive, put in trash, bookmark, view change log for email forwards
  • Restore any project items trashed
  • Participate in ping conversations with team members and other clients on their projects
  • Click to view archived projects that they were a part of

What's different for Clients:

  • They don't see any badges or borders indicating who is a client
  • They don't see flags calling out items that are visible to clients
  • They don't see Hill Charts
  • They can't create new projects
  • They can't invite people into projects
  • They can't remove people from projects
  • They can't edit a project's name or description
  • They can't modify the Tools in a project
  • They can't archive or trash a project
  • They can't see templates
  • They can't empty any project items in the trash
  • They can't publicly share any project items.
  • They can't be made Admins on the account
  • They can’t join the All-access projects and have to be manually invited

Clients on the Clientside can only: