Leave a Project or Account

Leave a Project

All done with a project? You can remove yourself from it!

Click "Set up people" on the project's home screen:

Screenshot of the project page with the "Set up people" button highlighted

Then, find the "..." button next to your name and click it:

Screenshot of the "People who can see this project" with an arrow pointing at the "..." button next to Liza Randall

"Remove yourself" button will be in the dropdown menu:

Screenshot of the "People who can see this project" with an arrow pointing at the "Remove yourself" button in the dropdown menu

That's it! You'll no longer see that project in your list of projects. 

Leave an Account

Note: This is not an option for an account owner. If you're an owner, ensure that there's at least one other co-owner on the account. Those others can 1) remove you from ownership and 2) remove you from the account.

Click on your avatar to navigate to "My profile."

Screenshot of the personal settings with the "My profile" button highlighted

Scroll down to the bottom of your profile card, and you'll see the option to leave that account.

Screenshot of the "My profile" page scrolled to the bottom. "Want to leave the account" section and "Remove me from this account" button are highlighted.

You'll get a confirmation screen, with the option to send a personal note to the account owner. The account owner will get an email that looks like this:

Screenshot of the email from Basecamp notifying that the user has left your account.