Keeping Basecamp 2 for Free

Now that you're on Basecamp 3, it's time to decide how you want to handle your existing Basecamp 2 account. You've got two options:

1
You can keep creating  new projects in both Basecamp 2 and 3 — but you'll be paying for both separately.
2
Or, you can use Basecamp 3 for  all new projects — and you'll keep all your existing Basecamp 2 projects for free.

If you need to keep creating new projects in Basecamp 2...

If you're still going to use Basecamp 2 for new projects, you'll just continue paying as usual. There's nothing to change or update. Business as usual.

But, if you don't need to create new projects in Basecamp 2, you can keep it for free...

If you're going to create all your new projects in Basecamp 3, you'll probably want to put your Basecamp 2 account on our free plan.

We made this plan exclusively for our existing customers that are switching to Basecamp 3. The plan lets you keep all your existing Basecamp 2 projects as-is. You can take as long as you want and wrap up any ongoing work in Basecamp 2. And you can continue to keep all your Basecamp 2 projects as long as you want, for free.

Keep Basecamp 2 for Free

1
After you've paid for your Basecamp 3 account, log into your Basecamp 2 account, and click the  Upgrades link in the top right corner. You can also use the  Account link there.
2
Next, you’ll see a special plan called out at the top. Select this plan
3
Done! As long as you stay on this package in Basecamp 2, and keep your Basecamp 3 account open, you won’t be charged for Basecamp 2 anymore.

You won’t be able to create any new projects in Basecamp 2 when you’re on this special plan, but you can continue to run any existing projects you already have going. You can then create new projects in your new Basecamp 3 account. If you ever do want to create new projects in your 2 account, you can always switch your plan back to a standard paid plan.

If you're not seeing this special plan called out, it means you're not the owner of both Basecamp 2 and 3 accounts. Double check that   the same person owns both accounts.

Keep Classic for Free

1
First, log into your Basecamp Classic account, and click the "Account (Upgrade/Invoices)" tab in the top right corner. 
2
Next, you’ll see a special plan called out at the top. Select this plan. 
3
Done! As long as you stay on this package in Basecamp Classic, and you keep your Basecamp 3 account open, you won’t be charged for Basecamp Classic anymore. You won’t be able to create any new projects in Basecamp Classic when you’re on this special plan, but you can continue to run any existing projects you already have going.