The Home Screen

The Home screen is a dedicated place for everything that's happening in your company. Click to dive into:

Your Home screen is where you'll see your recently-visited projects and any that you have pinned. When you pin a handful of projects, they'll show up on the Home screen and you can rearrange them however you'd like — it's personal to what you want to see when you log in to Basecamp.

Home screen of a Basecamp account with projects


Your Home screen looks much better with your logo on it! First you'll need an image file to upload. We recommend using a PNG image with a transparent background, but any JPEG or GIF will do just fine too.

To add a logo:

  1. Hover over your account name
  2. Click on the "Replace your logo" button
  3. Drag your file to the "Add your logo" space or click on it to select a file on your computer
  4. Click on the "Save" button to save your changes:

Not seeing a logo option? That usually means you're not an admin — you'll want to have one of your admins upload that logo for you.

Changing your logo

If you'd ever like to change your logo after you've added one, hover your mouse over the current logo. A small gear icon will appear. Click it! 

You can add your new logo to that space, or choose to display your company name instead:

Creating a Project

Click the button beneath your company logo to create a new project or access your templates:

Top of Home Screen with buttons to make a new project or Invite people

You’ll make a project for all the work you’re keeping track of in Basecamp. Think “website redesign,” “marketing campaign,” “fundraiser,” or anything else you’ve got cooking.

A screenshot of the project creation pop-up, with fields for the project name and options to make it Invite-only or All-access.

Learn more about All-access projects →

Deleting, Archiving, or Renaming a Project

Archive or delete a project

When a project is completed or no longer needed, you can archive it for safe keeping. Archived Projects can’t be modified, but they can be viewed.

Everything stays just as you left it, and you can unarchive a project at any time. If you want a project removed entirely, you can delete it. Click on the project then on  ••• in the project to do this.

Then you can decide if you'd rather archive the project or delete it:

Rename a project

Click into the project you want to rename and then click on the ••• menu at the top right of the page. Choose the option that says  Edit project details.

Make any changes you’d like to the name or description, then click the   Save changes button.

Pinning

Want to see certain projects on your Home Screen? Maybe arranged in a specific way? Pin them for quick access! There are a few ways to do this. 

1
From within a project, click on the ••• menu then on the Pin option:

A GIF showing how to pin a project to the Home Screen from the project page.

2
On the Home Screen, click the gray pushpin on the card, to the right of the card title:

Animated GIF of pinning a project to the Home screen from the Home screen

3

From the directory view, you can click on the pushpin on the right hand side to pin certain project. Click the    View all in list on the Home Screen to get to the directory view.

Organizing your Projects

Your Home Screen has the project cards you've pinned and what you've interacted with lately — you'll see up to 20 of your recently visited projects, ordered alphabetically.

Once you start pinning projects, you'll see two sections: all of your pinned spaces and below, your recently visited projects. The cards on your Home screen are  always relevant and current for you.

You can pin as many projects as you'd like! Once they're pinned, they can be moved around so they make sense for you. Drag and drop your pinned cards into the order you want them:

Animated GIF of a Basecamp home screen with pinned projects being dragged/dropped in order

There's no limit to the number of cards you can pin so if you need to see more than the 20 on your Home Screen, pin away!

Your Schedule & Your Assignments

You can find Your Schedule on the left hand side under the pinned and recently visited projects. This is where you can see a few upcoming events that you've been added to. It's not a still image! You can click around the calendar to see what you have going on today, next month, etc.

Click the "see all" link to navigate to your dedicated My Schedule page.

On the right hand side is Your Assignments. Here's where you can quickly see what is due soon and what's been recently-assigned. You can also check off to-dos here!

Just like Your Schedule, you can click on the "see all" link to go to the full view of your assignments

Seeing All Projects in a Directory

Near the top of the Home screen, there's a link to view all projects at one time in one list. Click the  View all in a list button to view the directory:

You'll get to a view that includes all active, pinned, client, all-access, archived and deleted projects. There are filters at the top of the page to see all of them, see only pinned projects, just projects, projects with clients only, projects with all-access, or all the inactive — archived and trashed projects.

There's also a search bar at the top! When you start to type what you're looking for, our system will search for matches in the titles as well as the descriptions of your workspaces. You can search everything by clicking on A-Z, or narrow things down by choosing a filter in addition to your search terms.

In this example, these are all the results for the search term "Gala" for all projects:

Your account will also remember what you last searched so if you find it useful to see your pinned cards in a list, you'll go right to the pinned section every time you return to the directory:

Using the Jump Menu

Need to quickly jump between projects, people, and pages? The jump menu is great for that!

It’s as easy as hitting  Command + J (Mac) or Ctrl + J (Windows). The jump menu will pop up and you can start typing to narrow down on the project, person, or page. Click or hit Enter on the selection and you’ll jump right to where you want to go.

Next up: My Stuff →

Jump to: