Automatic Check-Ins

Jump ahead to:

Automatic check-ins go out to your team on a regular basis. You can send them daily, weekly, or monthly. Everyone in the Project or on the Team or Company HQ Site can see the responses. Automatic check-ins keep teams up to date, and help your users get to know each other better.

At Basecamp, we use automatic check-ins to find out what everyone is up to. Every day, we ask people what they're working on, and what they had for lunch. Once a week, we ask people to take a picture of what they look like that day. Every other Monday, we ask people to share a good recipe. Once a month, we ask what people are reading, because who doesn't need a recommendation for a good book?
To set up an automatic check-in, click the Automatic Check-ins card in the Company HQ, Project, or Team site and click to Set up an automatic check-in.

Type your question, select who should be asked, then select how often and at what time you’d like to ask it.

When it's time to answer an automatic check-in, you'll receive a notification.

Pause, edit, or delete an automatic check-in

Go to the check-in and click Edit from the  ...  menu in the upper right corner.  

You can also put a check-in in the trash:

To pause, click the Stop asking this question link:

To start asking that question again, click the Start asking this question link:

Unsubscribe from automatic check-in questions or answers

If you don't need to be asked a check-in question, or don't need to see other people's answers, you can unsubscribe! 

To stop being asked a question, click into that question and look for the link "Stop asking me."

You can also toggle between being asked (or not) from the menu for that question. Look for the  ...  menu in the upper right corner and choose whether to start or stop being asked that question. 

If you don't need to be notified when other people answer a check-in, you can unsubscribe by clicking the link at the bottom of an email notification:

You can also unsubscribe from answers to that question via the menu in the upper right corner:

You cannot start or stop other people from receiving notifications for a check-in. You can add or remove other people from being asked a check-in question. Adding someone to a check-in will automatically subscribe them to new answers on that question.

Removing the Automatic Check-in tool

You can hide a tool from a Project, Team, or HQ if it's not needed. See if a clear space really does organize the mind!

Here's how: Changing Tools